The XCommerce event

Hello all,

Long time away from the blogging keyboard. I guess I needed the time to diggest the past couple weeks.

This post will be solely about the X.Commerce event that eBay Inc; ie eBay, PayPal and Magento have hosted couple of weeks back.

Image representing eBay as depicted in CrunchBase

Image via CrunchBase

Let me call out what I thought about all of this.

First what is this?

eBay, Magento and PayPal had APIs and separate developper focus in each companies. eBay Inc called out Matthew Mengerick to put all those Business Units together to 1) find synergies between them 2) try to find a way to montetize another group of customers that a shopping aggregator like eBay, a payment platform like PayPal and a SMB full solution suite like Magento should be interesting in serving: the 3rd party developpers.

The announcements

Some of them were interesting:

Facebook being part of the announcement gave some grounds to the platform and although I watched the video (like another 97 unfortunate other viewers – anti-climax as an impact if you were eBay – 1:11:00 if you want to be the 98th), I can’t really say I understood what the deal was about. I am guessing some kind of social commerce products. Those 2 giants getting together to crack the holy grail gives me good hopes that they would do it and do it well but the evil will be in the details. Knowing how Facebook has that much data about users and how eBay and PayPal has that much shopping data. You do the math but I definitely see huge potential.

Image representing Facebook as depicted in Cru...

Image via CrunchBase

– The rest is to re-announce that basically they brought all companies strengths and synergies together. APIs did exist but putting them altogether under the same stack will unleash some new potential usage or so it seems. Of course that is downplaying it a lot as I think the products look pretty cool. My personal favourite would be Magento as I knew it less well, and as they will use this platform APIs and current product to be even a more complete SMB solution as before. Publish your ads to Google AdWords, Facebook and eBay would give any kind of significant traffic to any SMBs  that would go online. I would hope that they can get the fulfilment ramp up as easily as they are helping with Marketing.

The Bad side of things

To be evil I d say it is sad for a company their stage to insist so much on powering 3rd party developers. Does that mean that anyone inside the company can’t innovate anymore? Certainly not but if I was one of the bright one inside and had the idea, I d probably want to go out and build it for me now that I have all the tools at my fingertips.

eBay Inc is still a hugely innovative company, don’t get me wrong. The question is, would you use their tools and integrations? Probably to find some scale before you can build some of it yourself.

Cracking SMBs? Definitely. Cracking the next big thing. Probably not.

Sincerely,

David Pardo

Enhanced by Zemanta
About newpayments

It is said that a revolution is at hand in payments and in eCommerce. I ll probably be talking about that.

Posted on 28/10/2011, in Players and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I haven’t checked in here for some time because I thought it was getting boring, but the last few posts are great quality so I guess I’ll add you back to my everyday bloglist. You deserve it friend 🙂

  2. Very interesting topic, appreciate it for posting.

Leave a Reply

